jim_p: (Default)
[personal profile] jim_p
It was like pulling teeth to the bitter end and beyond, but we finally managed to finish moving out of the house.

The closing on the sale was scheduled for Friday, August 6. We pulled all-nighters Wednesday and Thursday nights and still weren't done on Friday morning. The buyer inspected the place and agreed to close anyway because we were so close. The lawyers negotiated an escrow agreement which gave us until 9AM Wednesday, August 11 to have the place broom-clean from top to bottom. Although the house is indeed the buyer's property now, our lawyer is holding the checks in escrow and we don't see the money until everyone is satisfied that the place is clean. So back we went Friday afternoon and well into the night to clear the place out and make runs to storage. Saturday too. Oh, and we had tickets to see Cirque du Soleil Saturday night, so we worked and worked and cut it as close as we possibly could to clean out. By the time we left on Saturday there only remained the basement to finish cleaning out. We were still half an hour late for Cirque though (grump!). I was Not Happy about this, but consoled myself afterwards by splurging on the DVD :)

Sunday it's back to the house to finish cleaning out the basement. By this time our dumpster is full to the top and we still have junk, so we start piling it in the front yard. Tam was supposed to get together with a friend to work on some artwork and stories Sunday evening, but by the time evening rolled around we still had waay too much to do... so we called her and said "Come on over and be prepared to work". Having the extra set of hands made all the difference; by about 12:30AM we were finally out of the house save for the huge pile of trash in the front yard. We celebrated with a Denny's run (only thing open that time of night).

Only trouble now is, what to do with that trash pile? I had left a message with our realtor asking for a referral to someone who could clean it up on short notice. She came through, I called them today, and they should be over by 8AM tomorrow to take care of it.

As soon as that trash is gone, the saga is sooo over!

Date: 2004-08-09 04:00 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bikergeek.livejournal.com
Glad to hear it's over. *applauds*

Date: 2004-08-09 04:03 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jbsegal.livejournal.com
Re: Cirque:
Take small comfort in that, in the 2 outdoors shifts I've worked so far, someone's arrive at the end of the 1st act ±5m each time.

Date: 2004-08-09 08:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hammercock.livejournal.com
Thank goodness it's all over. I had meant to say so earlier, but you and Tam have been in my thoughts in the last couple of months. I know it's hard to go through the splitting up of the relationship and the property and all that. *hugs*

Date: 2004-08-27 12:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] angelovernh.livejournal.com
hey, it's been ages.. please post when you get a chance and update everyone. How are you doing?

Date: 2004-08-30 10:03 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jim-p.livejournal.com
Hey, thanks for caring! I'll post an update Real Soon Now :)
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 01:16 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios