jim_p: (Default)
[personal profile] jim_p
We're still in the process of moving out of our house.

When the closing was moved back from July 9 to August 6, we thought that extra month would give us plenty of time to clear out and do the last few things we wanted to do around the house. Wrong! At the rate we're going we'll likely just make it.

Oh and to light a fire under us, this past Sunday the buyer pays us a surprise visit, saying "I heard from someone that you might not be ready on the date of the closing!" So we show him around and show him what we've done and what we have left to do, and he says "You have a lot of work ahead of you!". No shit Sherlock, now get out of our way and let us get on with it already!

We've got the garage all set, and all of the big stuff out of the house. The basement will be the worst thing to finish up; today I tore down some of the lumber racks that he doesn't want.
Still lots of stuff both to clean out to the dumpster and to truck out to Phillipston and the like.

Which brings up another matter... the dumpster guy screwed me over. I called yesterday to have the dumpster taken away, tipped, and returned. They said it was on for today. So I stick around the house doing things, except for one nervous run I took to storage to bring the washing machine (what if they showed up then?) Not to worry; they still hadn't showed up. By 3PM I'm worried, so I call. "Yes, you're still on for today". By 6PM it's quite apparent that I fell off the end of their schedule and they couldn't be arsed to call and tell me so. Which means I need to be up at the butt-crack of dawn tomorrow because you know that's when they're gonna show up!

I've called in as many favors as I possibly can, but I sure could still use a hand over the next couple of days...

My god, I'll be SOOOO glad when this is over! On the assumption that it'll all be over on Friday the 6th, Tam and I have tickets to see Cirque du Soleil on Saturday the 7th. Assuming we can stay awake through the show...

Date: 2004-08-03 10:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elizabethtx1l.livejournal.com
Cirque du Soleil is incredibly neat. I saw Alegria awhile back. It was amazing!

September 2025

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
212223 24252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 09:21 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios